Call for Project Proposals

The Sylvia Fedoruk Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation (Fedoruk Centre) invites eligible Project Leaders to submit proposals for research projects, which have the potential to advance the Fedoruk Centre's purpose and to achieve a positive societal and economic impact in one or more of the Centre's key impact areas.  

Please see Awards Guide for information about:

  • The purpose of the 2018 call for proposals
  • Application and review process;
  • Eligibilites and admnistration of Fedoruk Centre Project funds; and
  • Reporting expectations.

Awards Guide

Researchers, institutions, and partners are invited to participate with the Fedoruk Centre in building a community of expertise that will place Saskatchewan among global leaders in nuclear research, development and training for maximum societal and economic benefit. We are grateful for feedback as we aim for a good balance of efficiency and accountability in the administration of Project awards.

The Fedoruk Centre Awards Guide outlines the purposes, processes, terms and conditions of the Sylvia Fedoruk Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation’s Project awards.  Forms and templates referenced in the Awards Guide are listed below. Project proposals may be submitted through the online Portal FCOnline

If you have any questions about the interpretation or application of any policies contained within this guide, please contact:


Advisory Committee

Chair, Department of Policy Studies, Mount Royal University

Duane Bratt is Chair and Professor in the Department of Policy Studies at Mount Royal University (Calgary, Alberta). He was educated at the Universities of Windsor (BA 1991, MA 1992) and Alberta (Ph.D 1996). He teaches in the area of international relations and Canadian public policy, with specialty in the sub-field of Canadian foreign policy. His primary research interest is in the area of Canadian nuclear policy. Recent publications include: co-editor, Readings in Canadian Foreign Policy: Classic Debates and New Ideas 2nd edition (Oxford University Press: Toronto, 2011). Prairie Atoms: The Opportunities and Challenges of Nuclear Power in Alberta and Saskatchewan (Canada West Foundation, 2008), and The Politics of CANDU Exports (University of Toronto Press: Toronto, 2006). His most recent book is Canada, the Provinces, and the Global Nuclear Revival which is published by McGill-Queen’s University Press and will be available in Fall 2012. Duane is also a regular commentator on political events.

NSERC/UNENE Industrial Research Chair in Nuclear Safety Analysis, McMaster University

John Luxat is a Professor in the Department of Engineering Physics and holds the NSERC/UNENE Industrial Research Chair in Nuclear Safety Analysis at McMaster University. He obtained his B.Sc. (Eng.) and M.Sc. (Eng.) degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Cape Town, South Africa in 1967 and 1969, respectively. In 1972 he obtained his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Windsor, Ontario. He has been a member of the Professional Engineers of Ontario since 1974. Prior to joining McMaster University in 2004 he had 32 years experience working in many areas of nuclear safety and nuclear engineering in the Canadian nuclear industry, as Vice President, Technical Methods at Nuclear Safety Solutions Limited in Toronto and, prior to that, as Manager of Nuclear Safety Technology at Ontario Power Generation.

In 2004 he was awarded the Canadian Nuclear Society/Canadian Nuclear Association Outstanding Contribution Award for his significant contributions to safety analysis and licensing of CANDU reactors. In 2011 he received the Technical Achievement Award of the American Nuclear Society Thermal Hydraulics Division, a national award of the Society. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering.

John is a member of the Advisory Board of the International Association for Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology (IASMiRT); and a Board member of the American Association for Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology (AASMiRT).  He is a member of the Advisory Board of Terrestrial Energy Inc. a private company developing the IMSR molten salt reactor concept.  In 2012 he was elected a member of the International Nuclear Energy Academy  and currently serves as chair of the Academy. He is the 2018/2019 President of the Canadian Nuclear Society, a position he previously held in 2005/2006. 

Associate Professor, Departments of Medicine and Radiology, McMaster University

Katherine Zukotynski is an Associate Professor in the Departments fo Medicine and Radiology at McMaster University. After completing an undergraduate degree in Engineering Science at the University of Toronto, Dr. Zukotynski completed medical training followed by residency in radiology, also at the University of Toronto. She completed nuclear medicine training through the Joint Program in Nuclear Medicine at Harvard in 2009. She is board certified in nuclear cardiology as well as in nuclear medicine and radiology in both the United States and Canada.

Dr. Zukotynski is Secretary/Treasurer of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI), President of the SNMMI PET Center of Excellence, President of the SNMMI Eastern Great Lakes Chapter, Chair of the Nuclear Medicine Section Instructional Courses at the American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) and the Radiological Society of North America (RSNA) as well as Chair of the RSNA Research and Education Public Relations Committee. She is actively involved with Nuclear Medicine outreach programs.

Dr. Zukotynski’s main areas of research are in PET/CT, particularly as it relates to oncology and neurodegenerative disease. She received the RSNA Research and Education Foundation Roentgen Resident/ Fellow Research Award first as a radiology resident and then as a nuclear medicine resident. She held an RSNA Research Scholar Grant from 2012-2014 and currently holds research grants for molecular imaging and therapy in prostate cancer of over $5 million. She has published 67 papers, 18 book chapters and is co-editor  for a book on SPECT/CT.

Additional support funding

Travel and Training Grants

Funding assistance may be available for travel to events or training sessions that support the objectives of the Fedoruk Centre. 



Engagement Grant

The Sylvia Fedoruk Canadian Centre for Nuclear Innovation (Fedoruk Centre) will review requests from eligible institutions, on an ongoing basis, for support for engagement activities (hosting workshops, training, engagement or similar events) that will further the purpose of the Fedoruk Centre.  

Consistent with its stated purpose, the Fedoruk Centre expects to leverage funding through partnering on activities in four key Impact Areas:

Commitment of partner funding (cash or accountable in-kinds) will be considered in the review process.  Please consult with the Awards Guide for information on eligible institutions, partner contributions/responsibilities and eligible expenditures.

Complete instructions are available on the application form.